The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) has no requirement for double time pay (see statement), but the California Department of Industrial Relations does, and the state laws trump the Federal laws when it comes to additional protections for workers.
California Workers Get Double Time Pay In Two Cases
1. Hours exceeding 12 in a day
When the hours worked in one day exceed 12, employees are paid double time for every hour worked thereafter.
2. Seventh consecutive day
If an employee works seven consecutive days, they are entitled to double time pay after the first 8 hours on that seventh workday.
From the California DIR:
For all hours worked in excess of 12 hours in any workday and for all hours worked in excess of eight on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek.
Why employees might not get double time
If the 7th day falls outside of the workweek, double time would not apply. A workweek starts over after 7 days so if an employee works 5 days in one workweek and 2 in another, the 7th consecutive day rule would not apply. The same is true of workdays. Read more about it here.
We’ll Do the Calculations For You!
Timesheets.com is an online time tracking software that takes the headaches out of time calculations. Our software can be configured for complicated California rules and you’ll never have to think about it again!