Press "Enter" to skip to content

New Minimum Wage Laws In California

california map

Over the long Forth of July weekend, many California locales saw minimum wage increases. Ten cities and counties increased the minimum wage on July 1st, 2017 as a part of some expanded local ordinances regarding minimum wage, paid sick leave, criminal background checks, and employee scheduling, among others.

This will affect payroll for the month of July, beginning on the first. Companies need to update pay rates for the July pay periods.

California recently increased the minimum wage to $10.50 per hour. This is part of a six year plan to increase California’s minimum wage to $15 per hour, by 2023. Many California locales, however, are increasing minimum wages at a faster rate than the sate wide increases. These include:

  • Emeryville: $15.20/hour for businesses with 56 or more employees; $14/hour for businesses with 55 or fewer employees.
  • City of Los Angeles: $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Los Angeles County (unincorporated areas only): $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Malibu: $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Milpitas: $11 an hour.
  • Pasadena: $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • San Francisco: $14 an hour.
  • San Jose: $12 an hour.
  • San Leandro: $12 an hour.
  • Santa Monica: $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

A few more ordinances went into effect last weekend in some of these cities. Use the Local Ordinances Wizard to check on other laws like sick leave, fair workweek, etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *