To begin, click Close Payroll Period in the left menu.
- Select the users to include in your payroll period.
- Select the start and end dates for your payroll period.
- Click ‘View The Preliminary Payroll Report’. The preliminary report is your payroll report for the period. You should check the report carefully.
- If the report is accurate and correct, click ‘Save & Close the Payroll Period’. If the report is not accurate or there are other issues that you need to address before closing, you may abandon the process and return to the Dashboard where you can edit employee timesheets. When you’re ready, just begin the process again.
After the period is closed, you’ll see a confirmation message on your screen. You’ll also see a list of past payroll reports with the most recent shown at the top of the page. You can export a payroll report in your desired format by clicking on the blue download arrow on the right side of the page.
- Time does not need to be marked ‘signed’ or ‘approved’ prior to closing a payroll period.
- You may see one or more warnings or errors on the preliminary report. Warnings can be ignored, but errors must be addressed before closing the payroll period. For example:
- You may see a warning that unpaid time exists prior to the period start date. This warning is intended to notify you that there could be unpaid time from a previous payroll period. It can be ignored, however, it’s best to address this problem by closing, archiving or deleting the older time.
- You may see a warning that a payroll period overlaps a previous period. This warning can be ignored but it’s usually worth looking into to make sure that your periods are correct.
- You may see an error that alerts exist for employees included in the payroll report. Alerts must be resolved before closing a payroll period that includes the user who has the unresolved alert. This is because Timesheets.com doesn’t know how to calculate the hours until you resolve the alert.
- You may see an error about overlapping timestamps for a specific user. This error must be resolved before closing payroll for that user. This prevents duplicate entries. There’s a report in the Reports section of Timesheets.com that will show you exactly which timestamp is a duplicate or overlap. Run the report, then visit the employee’s timesheet to correct the problem.